Review: Flowers of Darkness

Thank you St. Martin’s Press for the advance digital copy.

Clarissa moves into a state of the art apartment in Paris set in the near future. She begins to feel like she is being watched by someone in her new residence. A residence that is equipped with cameras in every room and unique requirements for its residents.

Although the plot is a bit weak, the storytelling pulled through enough to make this a worthwhile read. I really enjoyed following Clarissa as she finds her new apartment, tries to get over her husband’s recent betrayal, and deals with the demons from her past. It was interesting to be witness to her journey of paranoia as she becomes more and more convinced that something sinister is underway in her new home.

Clarissa is a well written character and I was invested in her story.

I wanted more. I felt like as the reader, I was left hanging on some of the major plot points of the story and it left me frustrated. Even if it was the purpose of the author to leave questions unanswered, it made the plot points that were left unfinished feel pointless.

There is a twist in the story that felt too strange. For me, it didn’t co exist well with the rest of the book. I understand that it is supposed to be the reason for Clarissa’s uncertainty in her new home, but it just felt too strange when set along the rest of the book.

I was happy with the ending and with Clarissa’s growth as as character.

Overall, it was a unique read that kept me interested but left me a bit unsatisfied and a little weirded out.

Leave a comment